The Shack Beside The Strawberry Fields

Whilst I was working in America during the summer of 2014, the place that I was working at took the campers for a day out. After packing our lunches, and running from the tipis, staff lounge and pool deck trying to find my lost staff t-shirt, we eventually set off on the boats for the other islands. We then took the camps’ super cool, typical American camper van and pick-up truck. After driving through vast countryside fields and alongside the seaside, whilst led down in the back of the pick-up truck, catching rays, we finally arrived at the farm. It was set aside from the local town, and situated between beautiful mountains and valleys. We started getting our hands dirty by replanting the trunk guards at the bottom of the apple trees, and too my surprise I suddenly found myself swarmed by wasps. As I was running around screaming trying to get away, the campers just stood and laughed. How rude of them. Once we actually got away from the wasps racing to sting my skin, the strawberry fields were revealed. Row after row of strawberry plants, it genuinely looked like something from the movies. However, what caught my eye was the farmers house. It wasn’t anything grand, if anything it was completely opposite. It was small, old and wooden. It was beautiful. It kind of reminded me of the house from the film ‘Up’. It had a small solar panel clinging onto the tin roof. It was simple, yet stunning. It was situated next to a den of ducklings on one side of the house, and on the other side, about seven bee hives, but not too close obviously. I had to obviously try out being a been handler, but yet again I ended up running away… This house was dreamy. It was in the middle of no where, amazing scenery, strawberry fields and many animal residents. It was by far, one of the most amazing places I’ve seen. IMG_0039-0SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESSAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESIMG_0042[1]

Leave a Reply

