Motivation for fuel.

For way too long I’ve been trying to decide what type of blog I wish to write. After reading so many, I’ve decided to just, well, wing it.

I recently read a blog about motivation and how it affects us even doing every day tasks. Not only will motivation be a factor for getting out of bed in the morning, but it also affects what I want to get done, when, with who, and my general day to day activities. A major thing for me personally would be what I want to achieve in life, may it be this month, year or in 5 years time and the one thing getting me there is my motivation.

Hours of planning, many decision changing moments, bad mistakes made, job opportunities, friends I’ve made on my travels, all of these things have created a personal journey or path for me that I now follow. How cringe worthy it may sound, or typical, but every thing I’ve done or accomplished, messed up or lost, no matter how big or small, has led me to this moment and allowed me to see exactly what I want from life, and motivation is now the one force getting me to where I want to be. 

Sure, it’s always nice to have a nice new car, designer clothes and a deposit paid off on a house, of course I’d love to have that, but at the same time, I’m happy with not having flashy things. As some friends know, I’m a sucker for an old beaten up truck (should have been born in America) and love my charity shop flannel shirts. 

This may sound hypocritical, but at the same time I still feel as if I want more from life. To clarify, I don’t mean in terms of possessions, I’d be happy living in a log cabin away from the city (with my truck) and ideally in America or Canada.. but I just mean I need to get away and see what’s out there. Maybe it’s me just being a wannabe travel junkie, but having such an urge to just quit work, grab my backpack and jump on a plane can be an amazing feeling, but also scary and daunting one too.

This is where my personal motivation comes into play. If I had the opportunity and money to get on a plane tomorrow, I would, however that is the problem, I don’t. I have to work hard, save money, plan what I’m doing not only with any travels, but my life. I am young, I have so much time to play with, as much as I want to get out of here as soon as possible. I know where I want to be, where I want to go, and I will get there. I don’t know how long it will take me, how hard it may be, but I will get there. People, opportunities, everything that’s happened to me has gave me this strong mental push and every day is giving me more experience and knowledge in order to achieve my goal. It will be done, that I can tell you.

Every day is something new. I see something different, whether it be a photo of a place on instagram, or a story I’ve read in a book. Each little thing keeps giving me that inspiration to create my own story. So far, we are only at the beginning. We each have a story we wish to create, don’t let it get buried in 9-5 work, people holding you back, or being afraid of coming out of your comfort zone. Get out there, live your life, accomplish your goals and be that person you wish to be. 

Failure is the key to success: each mistake teaches us something” – Morihei Ueshiba

Leave a Reply

